President Bruno REVELLIN-FALCOZ has been appointed member of the Governing Board of the European Institute of Innovation & Technology (EIT)

Twelve new members were appointed by the European Commission to serve on the Governing Board of the European Institute of Innovation & Technology (EIT), an independent body among EU advisory structures. The Board will assume office as of July 31, 2012. Among the newly appointed personalities, President Bruno REVELLIN-FALCOZ, National Academy of Technologies of France (NATF) will thus be joining 6 other continuing members of the initial Board formation, as well as 4 other members chosen by the staff and students registered at EIT.

The twelve new members

The twelve members joining the EIT Governing Board are :

M. Gabor BOJAR, Founder and Chairman of Graphisoft SE; Graphisoft Park SE and Aquincum Institute of Technology (AIT)Ms María GARAÑA, President of Microsoft Spain.
Chairman of the board of Novo A/S and Novo Nordisk Foundation
Ms Elpida KERAVNOU-PAPAILIOU, Rector of the Cyprus University of Technology.
Ms Jana KOLAR, Head of Research, founder and majority owner of Morana, rtd.

Ms Marja MAKAROW, Vice-President for Research of the Academy of Finland.

M. Peter OLESEN, Chairman of the Danish Council for Strategic Research.

M. Patrick PRENDERGAST, Provost/President of Trinity College Dublin.

President of the National Academy of Technologies of France.
M. Gianfelice ROCCA,
Chairman of Techint Group.
M. Nigel THRIFT, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Warwick.

Non-executive Director of Shell Company.

The Knowledge and Innovation Communities (KICs)

The Members of the EIT Governing Board are responsible for supervising the applicaton in the field of the EIT's Strategic Innovation Agenda (SIA), proposed by the European Commission.. The aim of this programme is to encourage creation of young start-up companies and the training of 10 000 Master’s degree students and 10 000 PhD students in scientific courses with a high entrepreneurial content and thrust.

In parallel, the IET Board will select, evaluate and coordinate 6 new Knowledge and Innovation Communities (KICs). To this end, the EC will allocate to IEIT a approx. 3 billion euros budget in its forthcoming financial framework. The KICs will complete the already existing three poles approved and established by EIT in computer sciences (ICTs), sustainable energy programmes and climate change. These European “areas of excellence” are entities grouping together on a same ‘territory’, relevant HE and research establishments (public and private) and corporate structures, implying and enabling strong public(private partnerships ventures.

More about EIT at:

Initiates file downloadDownload the presentation brochure