Académie des technologies

Caroline Lauriac

  • Executive Assistant
  • Airbus
  • 30 years old
  • Sponsored by par Catherine Lambert

Why a career in tech?

To satisfy my curiosity! Quite simply because I like to understand how systems work, how products are designed and manufactured.

Your professional experience?

I did a scientific baccalaureate with an engineering sciences option(BacS-SI). I enjoyed the concrete side of the practical work. So I continued on a Physics & Technology Preparatory Class (PTSI-PT), for the concrete aspect that has always attracted me. Finally, I graduated from Arts & Métiers ParisTech in 2014, a generalist engineering school that combines theory and practice.

Your first experience with technology?

I started as a quality engineer on the Airbus A320 neo engine pylons, during their industrialization phase. This first experience allowed me to understand the basics of an aeronautical production line. Afterwards, I moved to support the assembly of the aircraft structure at ATR, before changing to the coordination out-of-sequence works.

What do you do today, and why?

After 6 years in aeronautical production support and following a first management experience, I am today Executive Assistant to a final assembly line executive manager. It's a 3-year development job where I can become aware of Airbus’major challenges, understand the mechanisms of high-level decision making, with a transverse vision of the activities.

Your strengths in this role?

I am organized, efficient, reliable with excellent synthesis skills. This is essential to anticipate, deal with confidential matters, and facilitate decision making.

Past challenges, failures and disappointments?

I was very well received in all the departments I worked in : Finding your place as a young woman engineer in production is not easy. It's a male-dominated environment and you have to prove twice as much as a man. On the other hand, it's challenging and motivating to be able to contribute to changing mentalities.

Best moments, successes you’re proud of?

I am proud to have managed a team of 20 technicians, from 3 different professions at 27 years old. It was a real challenge for me, especially during the COVID crisis with remote management.

People who helped, influenced -or made your life difficult?

Without hesitation, my twin sister ! Since we were little, there has been a positive emulation between us, we are challenging each other. She is also an engineer in the railway systems sector and she has always been a good advisor, even in professional situations.

Your hopes and future challenges?

In the future, I would like to give an international dimension to my career, still in aeronautics. I had the chance to do two six-month internships in engineering, in the USA and in Germany during my studies and I know that I could easily develop further there.

What do you do when you don’t work?

I love to travel and discover new cultures. It is extremely enriching. Also, I recharge my batteries by putting together puzzles! It is an activity that requires concentration and allows me to refocus. Finally, to let off steam and stay in shape, I also do Zumba

Your heroes -from History or fiction?

The first woman in the world to obtain her pilot's license in 1910, Elise Deroche, known as Baroness de Laroche. She had the courage to make herself known and recognized in a male world.

A saying or proverb you like in particular?

“I never lose. I either win or I learn.” Nelson Mandel

A book to take with you on a desert island

If I were stranded on a desert island, I think I would take the dictionary with me. It can be read and read again without knowing the end. It would also be an endlesssource of learning and would satisfy my need to learn something new every day

A message to young female professionals?

Some pioneer women had the courage to lead the way in Tech. It's up to all of us to continue this path. Dare! The Tech world is waiting for you!

THE CHATELET
QUESTIONNAIRE

The questionnaire answered by the Women of Tech is a variant of the Proust questionnaire, named not because Marcel Proust got lost in the Paris metro, but in memory of Emilie du Chatelet, a woman of letters, mathematician and physicist, renowned for her translation of Newton's Principia Mathematica and the dissemination of Leibniz's physics work. She was a member of the Academy of Sciences of the Bologna Institute. Emilie du Chatelet led a free and fulfilled life during the era of the Enlightenment and published a speech on happiness.

Emilie Du Chatelet

Woman of letters, mathematician and physicist

1706 - 1749

Académie des technologies

Caroline Lauriac

  • Assistante executive
  • Airbus
  • 30 ans
  • Marrainée par Catherine Lambert

Pourquoi la tech ?

Pour satisfaire ma curiosité ! Tout simplement parce que j’aime comprendre comment fonctionnent les systèmes,comprendre comment les produits sont conçus et fabriqués.

Votre parcours ?

J’ai passé un bac S avec option Sciences de l’ingénieur (Bac S-SI). Le côté concret des travaux pratiques me plaisait. J’ai donc continué sur une Classe Préparatoire Physique Technologie (Prépa PTSI-PT), pour l’aspect concret qui m’a toujours attirée. Enfin, j’ai été diplômée des Arts & Métiers ParisTech en 2014, une école d’ingénieur généraliste qui combine théorie et pratique.

Votre première expérience professionnelle dans la tech ?

J’ai commencé en tant qu’ingénieur qualité sur les mâts réacteurs de l’Airbus A320neo, lors de leur phase d’industrialisation. Cette première expérience m’a permis de comprendre les bases d’une chaîne de production aéronautique. Je me suis ensuite orientée vers du support à l’assemblage de la structure avion chez ATR, avant de passer en coordination de travaux hors série.

Que faites-vous aujourd’hui et pourquoi ?

Aujourd’hui, après 6 ans en support à la production aéronautique et suite à une première expérience de management, je suis Assistante Exécutive d’un directeur de ligne d’assemblage final. C’est un parcours formant de 3 ans où je peux prendre conscience des grands enjeux d’Airbus, comprendre les mécanismes de prise de décisions à haut niveau, avec une vision transverse des activités.

Vos atouts pour ce poste ?

Je suis organisée, efficace, fiable avec d’excellentes capacités de synthèse. C’est primordial pour anticiper, traiter des sujets confidentiels, et faciliter les prises de décisions.

Vos défis passés, vos ratés, vos grands moments de solitude ?

J’ai été très bien accueillie dans tous les services : Faire sa place en tant que jeune femme ingénieur en production n’est pas facile. C’est un milieu très masculin et il faut parfois faire deux fois plus ses preuves qu’un homme. En revanche, c’est challengeant et motivant de pouvoir contribuer à faire évoluer les mentalités.

Vos meilleurs moments, les succès dont vous êtes fière ?

Je suis fière d’avoir managé une équipe de 20 techniciens, de 3 métiers différents à 27 ans. C’était un vrai défi pour moi, d’autant plus pendant la crise du COVID avec le management à distance.

Des personnes qui vous ont aidée/marquée ou au contraire rendu la vie difficile ?

Sans hésiter, ma sœur jumelle ! Depuis petites, il y a eu une émulation positive entre nous, on se challenge. Elle est également ingénieur dans le secteur des systèmes ferroviaires et elle a toujours été de bon conseil, même concernant des situations professionnelles.

Vos envies et défis à venir ?

Dans le futur, j’aimerais donner une dimension internationale à ma carrière, toujours dans l’aéronautique. J’ai eu la chance de faire deux stages de six mois en ingénierie, aux USA et en Allemagne au cours de mes études et je sais que je pourrais facilement m’y épanouir.

Et que faites-vous en dehors de votre travail ?

J’adore voyager et découvrir de nouvelles cultures. C’est extrêmement enrichissant. Aussi, je me ressource en assemblant des puzzles ! C’est une activité qui nécessite de la concentration et me permet de me recentrer. Enfin, pour me défouler et rester en forme, je fais aussi de la Zumba.

Vos héroïnes (héros) de fiction, ou dans l’histoire ?

La première femme au monde à obtenir son brevet de pilote en 1910, Elise Deroche, dite Baronne de Laroche. Elle a eu le courage de se faire connaître et reconnaître dans un monde masculin.

Votre devise favorite ?

“Je ne perds jamais. Soit je gagne, soit j’apprends.” Nelson Mandela

Un livre à emporter sur une île déserte

Si je devais me retrouver bloquée sur une île déserte, je crois que j’emporterais le dictionnaire. Il a le mérite de pouvoir être lu et relu sans en connaître la fin. Il serait aussi une source d’apprentissage infinie et permettrait de satisfaire mon besoin d’apprendre quelque chose de nouveau tous les jours.

Un message ou un conseil aux jeunes femmes ?

Certaines pionnières ont eu le courage de tracer la voie dans la Tech. C’est à nous toutes de continuer ce chemin. Osez ! Le monde de la Tech n’attend que vous !

LE QUESTIONNAIRE
DU CHATELET

Le questionnaire auquel répondent les Femmes de tech est une variante du questionnaire de Proust, ainsi nommé non pas parce que Marcel Proust se serait égaré dans le métro parisien, mais en mémoire d’Emilie du Chatelet, femme de lettres, mathématicienne et physicienne, renommée pour sa traduction des Principia Mathematica de Newton et la diffusion de l’œuvre physique de Leibniz. Elle fût membre de l’Académie des sciences de l’Institut de Bologne. Emilie du Chatelet mena au siècle des Lumières une vie libre et accomplie et publia un discours sur le bonheur.

Emilie Du Chatelet

Femme de lettre, mathématicienne, physicienne

1706 - 1749