Académie des technologies

Anne-Priscille Daviet

  • Command Control department, Flamanville power plant
  • EDF
  • 38 years old
  • Marrainée par Claude Nahon

Why a career in tech?

I have always loved science and math. Tech is also out of loyalty to a mathematics teacher grandmother, to a historian dad specializing in the history of industry, and above all it is the deep desire to answer the challenges of our time which are of course climate change with a focus on energy.

Your professional experience?

I had a very French classic background that led me to the Ecole Centrale de Paris. A strong interest in energy production naturally brought me to EDF, the French Public Utility. It was obvious. I had an absolute will to work in industry: technique and technology fascinate me, as well as the French industrial power of nuclear power.

Your first experience with technology?

My first industrial experience was at Air Liquide: I was doing an internship there on CO2 capture and storage 2 months later, I discovered the maintenance of nuclear power plants at EDF. I was thus able to discover more than half of the French nuclear sites. I met the operators there with their daily challenges, their technical skills, and their proximity to the installation (the nuclear reactor, the engine room, the control room, etc.). Quite naturally after that, I wanted to get closer to operating power plants. This implied a real choice of life since the power stations are in the countryside and you had to leave the city, me the Parisian!

What do you do today, and why?

Today I am head of the Command Control department of the Flamanville 1 and 2 power plant. It is a management position, in a very technical environment, having to meet many requirements (safety, security, environment, quality, etc.), and with very competent teams in the operation of reactors. Driving is at the heart of the challenges of producing carbon-free electricity. This is where the electricity produced on the grid is monitored in real time by varying the production. We pilot the reactor in real time, it's a very demanding job, you need technical skills, rigor and a real team spirit. I am committed to having young women on the teams and hope that soon one of her will be in responsibility of production.

Your strengths in this role?

Desire, passion, energy, rigor, dynamism. A lot of feelings for the employees who work with me, for their technical and human skills, and their commitment. A daily desire to keep my legitimacy with them.

Past challenges, failures and disappointments?

My first weeks at a power station were difficult in an unknown world: woman, Parisian and very young. It was a big personal challenge…. I was successful and that supports me today. My great moment of loneliness was in engineering school when I had to choose my path ... You have to choose what you want to do with your life, it seemed dizzying to me. I needed a year off, to experience life in a company and to better understand the jobs that were available to me. I understood how important it was for me to meet the challenges of my time, and to contribute to them in my own way.

Best moments, successes you're proud of?

The best moments undoubtedly are those that I share with my teams. It is the pride of a successful project, for example the return of a reactor to the network after almost 2 years of shutdown, these are exiting moments that reward our determination and our skills.

People who helped, influenced -or made your life difficult?

Of course, there have been leaders who believed in me, and it is very important that they trusted me. But for me, as a manager, it is even more important to be recognized, accepted by my peers and by my teams. I am keen not to disappoint them, and this is a daily source of motivation.

Your hopes and future challenges?

Take advantage of the opportunities offered by EDF to discover other professions, other technical sectors but always in industry.

What do you do when you don't work?

I have 2 children aged 4 and 6 so that keeps me busy. I really like the mountains, in Flamanville I discovered the sea and the feeling of liberty you get on a boat : these are in a way the same personal challenges facing the immensity of nature, whether it is the mountain or the sea. We are cut off from the world. , we are left to ourselves, we become humble again in the front of nature.

Your heroes -from History or fiction?

Without hesitation Marie Curie: she was an exceptional woman, in love, scientist, determined, mother of a family, patriot,… and twice Nobel Prize winner. I also really like Pénélope Bagieu's "Culottées", a comic book with a lot of humor about strong women.

A saying or proverb you like in particular?

"To live is not to resign yourself": I like this phrase from Albert Camus I don't want to give up when there are difficulties or obstacles,

A book to take with you on a desert island?

Without hesitation also "Les contemplations" by Victor Hugo. But I couldn't settle on one book, I'd have three more: Proust's "A la recherche du temps perdu", I've never really had time to read it, so maybe on a desert island I could finally do it. I also really like Tolstoy's "War and Peace" and finally Jane Austen's "Pride and Prejudice".

A message to young female professionals?

To paraphrase Obama, I would say: "Yes you can"!

THE CHATELET
QUESTIONNAIRE

The questionnaire answered by the Women of Tech is a variant of the Proust questionnaire, named not because Marcel Proust got lost in the Paris metro, but in memory of Emilie du Chatelet, a woman of letters, mathematician and physicist, renowned for her translation of Newton's Principia Mathematica and the dissemination of Leibniz's physics work. She was a member of the Academy of Sciences of the Bologna Institute. Emilie du Chatelet led a free and fulfilled life during the era of the Enlightenment and published a speech on happiness.

Emilie Du Chatelet

Woman of letters, mathematician and physicist

1706 - 1749

Académie des technologies

Anne-Priscille Daviet

  • Cheffe de service, conduite Flamanville, EDF
  • 38 ans
  • Marrainée par Claude Nahon

POURQUOI LA TECH ?

J'ai toujours aimé les sciences et les maths. La Tech c'est aussi par fidélité à une grand-mère prof de maths, à un papa historien spécialisé dans l’industrie, et puis c'est surtout l'envie de répondre aux enjeux de notre temps que sont le climat bien sûr, et l'énergie plus particulièrement.

VOTRE PARCOURS ?

J’ai eu un parcours classique qui m'a conduit à l'Ecole Centrale de Paris. Un intérêt fort pour la production d'énergie m’a amenée tout naturellement chez EDF. C'était comme une évidence. J'avais une envie absolue de travailler dans l'industrie : technique et technologie me fascinent, ainsi que la puissance industrielle française du nucléaire.

VOTRE PREMIÈRE EXPÉRIENCE PROFESSIONNELLE DANS LA TECH ?

Ma première expérience industrielle a été chez Air Liquide : j’y faisais un stage sur la capture et le stockage du CO2. 2 mois plus tard, je découvrais chez EDF la maintenance des centrales nucléaires. J’ai ainsi pu découvrir plus de la moitié des sites nucléaires français. J’y ai croisé les exploitants avec leurs défis quotidiens, leurs compétences techniques, et leur proximité avec l’installation (le réacteur nucléaire, la salle des machines, la salle de commande, …). Tout naturellement après ça, j'ai voulu me rapprocher de l'exploitation des centrales. Cela impliquait un véritable choix de vie puisque les centrales sont à la campagne et qu'il fallait quitter la ville, moi la parisienne !

VOUS FAITES QUOI AUJOURD’HUI ET POURQUOI ?

Aujourd'hui, je suis chef du service Conduite de la centrale de Flamanville 1 et 2. C'est un poste de management, dans un environnement très technique, devant respecter beaucoup d’exigences (sûreté, sécurité, environnement, qualité, …), et avec des équipes très compétentes sur la conduite des réacteurs. La Conduite est au cœur des enjeux de production de l'électricité décarbonée. C’est là qu’on suit en temps réel l’électricité produite sur le réseau en faisant varier la production. On pilote en temps réel le réacteur, c'est un métier très exigeant, il faut des compétences techniques, de la rigueur et un véritable esprit d’équipe. Je m’attache à avoir des jeunes femmes au sein des équipes et j’espère que bientôt l’une d’entre elle sera cheffe d’exploitation.

VOS ATOUTS POUR CE POSTE ?

Envie, passion, énergie, rigueur, dynamisme. Beaucoup d’amour pour les salariés qui travaillent avec moi, pour leurs compétences techniques et humaines, et leur engagement. Une envie au quotidien de gagner ma légitimité auprès d’eux.

VOS DÉFIS PASSÉS, VOS RATÉS, VOS GRANDS MOMENTS DE SOLITUDE ?

Mes premières semaines sur une centrale ont été difficiles dans un monde inconnu : femme, parisienne et bien jeune. C’était un gros défi personnel…. Que j’ai réussi et cela me soutient aujourd’hui. Mon grand moment de solitude, c’est en école d’ingénieur lorsque j’ai dû choisir ma voie… Il faut choisir ce qu’on veut faire de sa vie, cela me paraissait vertigineux. J’ai eu besoin d’une année de césure, d’expérimenter la vie en entreprise et de mieux appréhender les métiers qui s’offraient à moi. J’ai compris combien c’était important pour moi de relever les défis de mon époque, et d’y contribuer à ma manière.

VOS MEILLEURS MOMENTS, LES SUCCÈS DONT VOUS ÊTES FIÈRE ?

Les meilleurs moments incontestablement, ce sont ceux que je partage avec les équipes. C'est la fierté d’un chantier réussi, par exemple le retour d'un réacteur sur le réseau après presque 2 ans d'arrêt, ce sont des moments exaltants qui récompensent notre acharnement et nos compétences.

DES PERSONNES QUI VOUS ONT AIDÉE/MARQUÉE OU AU CONTRAIRE RENDU LA VIE DIFFICILE ?

Bien sûr, il y a eu des chefs qui ont cru en moi, et c’est très important qu’ils m’aient fait confiance. Mais pour moi, en tant que manager, il est encore plus important d’être reconnue, acceptée par mes pairs et par mes équipes. J’ai à cœur de ne pas les décevoir, et c’est une source de motivation quotidienne.

VOS ENVIES ET DÉFIS À VENIR ?

Profiter des opportunités offertes par EDF pour découvrir d’autres métiers, d’autres secteurs techniques mais toujours dans l’industrie.

ET VOUS FAITES QUOI EN DEHORS DE VOTRE TRAVAIL ?

J'ai 2 enfants de 4 et 6 ans alors ça m'occupe pas mal. J'aime beaucoup la montagne, à Flamanville j'ai découvert la mer et le bateau : ce sont un peu les mêmes défis personnels face à l'immensité de la nature, que ce soit la montagne ou la mer. On est coupé du monde, on est livré à soi-même, on redevient humble face à la nature.

VOS HÉROÏNES (HÉROS) DE FICTION, OU DANS L’HISTOIRE ?

Sans hésiter Marie Curie : elle a été une femme exceptionnelle, amoureuse, scientifique, déterminée, mère de famille, patriote, … et 2 fois prix Nobel. J'aime aussi beaucoup les « Culottées » de Pénélope Bagieu, une bd avec beaucoup d’humour sur des femmes fortes.

VOTRE DEVISE FAVORITE ?

« Vivre c'est ne pas se résigner » : cette phrase de Camus me plaît je n'ai pas envie de renoncer quand il y a des difficultés ou des obstacles, et je n’ai pas envie d’avoir à choisir par exemple entre ma vie professionnelle et ma vie personnelle (je veux vivre les deux, sans renoncement).

UN LIVRE À EMPORTER SUR UNE ÎLE DÉSERTE ?

Sans hésiter aussi « Les contemplations » de Victor Hugo. Mais je ne saurais me résoudre à un livre, j'en aurais 3 de plus : « A la recherche du temps perdu » de Proust, je n'ai jamais vraiment eu le temps de le lire, alors sur une île déserte peut être que je pourrais enfin le faire. J'aime beaucoup aussi « Guerre et paix » de Tolstoï et pour finir « Orgueil et préjugés » de Jane Austen.

UN MESSAGE OU UN CONSEIL AUX JEUNES FEMMES ?

Je paraphraserai un peu Obama, je dirai : «  Yes you can » !

LE QUESTIONNAIRE
DU CHATELET

Le questionnaire auquel répondent les Femmes de tech est une variante du questionnaire de Proust, ainsi nommé non pas parce que Marcel Proust se serait égaré dans le métro parisien, mais en mémoire d’Emilie du Chatelet, femme de lettres, mathématicienne et physicienne, renommée pour sa traduction des Principia Mathematica de Newton et la diffusion de l’œuvre physique de Leibniz. Elle fût membre de l’Académie des sciences de l’Institut de Bologne. Emilie du Chatelet mena au siècle des Lumières une vie libre et accomplie et publia un discours sur le bonheur.

Emilie Du Chatelet

Femme de lettre, mathématicienne, physicienne

1706 - 1749