Académie des technologies

Cécile Hardebolle

  • Project Officer, Center for Digital Education
  • EPFL
  • 39 years old
  • Sponsored by Alain Bravo

Why a career in tech?

For me, technology = possibilities + meaning. Tech makes it possible to create new objects, new things with the goal to help humans. It speaks to two rather opposite sides of my personality: a creative side and a very rational side. That's probably why it was an obvious choice in my career.

Your professional experience?

In my training as in my professional career, I have often taken indirect paths. I entered a French engineering Grande Ecole, Supélec, after a university diploma in technology. After a first professional experience in consulting, I finally went back to university to do a PhD in computer science. I worked as a professor assistant in computer science for several years, and 7 years ago, I decided to change direction again and move to Switzerland to become a pedagogical advisor and faculty developer.

Your first experience with technology?

As a young and recently graduated engineer, I joined a software architecture consulting firm. I learned a lot in a very short time and the missions for different clients gave me a great overview of a range of companies and professions. Which led me to understand that this type of career was not for me!

What do you do today, and why?

I support teachers in pedagogical and technological innovation projects at EPFL (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), a Swiss engineering school, since 2014. Since two years, I am more specifically in charge of a project called "Jupyter Notebooks for Education". Notebooks are interactive documents that mix text and executable code. They are widely used in research and their use in teaching is promising for developing students' computational thinking. The goal of the project is to evaluate the impact of these tools on student learning, to identify the most interesting pedagogical scenarios for these tools and to support teachers in their use. An exciting project at the intersection of technology, sciences and education!

Your strengths in this role?

It is a position that requires a good background in computer science for the technological aspects, but also a scientific approach for the evaluation of the implemented pedagogical approaches, and the ability to accompany teachers who are often very experienced - three skills that I was able to develop in my previous professional experiences. As a trained engineer who has taught in several engineering schools, I have a practical understanding of the challenges involved. Finally, the “geek” in me enjoys exploring these new technologies, the “creative” loves to imagine new uses for them and the “rational” is very reassured to collect data to check that it all makes sense!

Past challenges, failures and disappointments?

A few years ago, as I was considering moving position, I had to overcome a situation of conflict at work. It has been very hard, to the point that I could not get up in the morning anymore. It was important for me not to run away from the situation but strive to give back meaning to my work. I sought the advice from a coach, who helped me rebuild my self-confidence and design a new project. It took me almost 2 years to get out of it, but I know now that it was (really!) for the best.

Best moments, successes you’re proud of ?

During my first years at EPFL, I worked a lot on the support to students and developed resources to help them "learn how to learn". With my colleague Roland Tormey, we transformed these resources into a book titled "Apprendre à Etudier – Guide à l'usage des étudiants en sciences et en ingénierie". I was very happy to be able to make these resources available widely, and this was my first book. I honestly didn't expect it to be a huge success - it's clearly not a bestseller - but it did get us a spot on the RTS (Swiss television) news. Our "Apprendre à Etudier" workshop, offered to students entering EPFL upon their arrival on campus, has had more than 700 participants each year: it is the largest group of students I have ever taught! We have then published a MOOC and an online application called the Learning Companion. I found it exciting to base the design of these resources on evidence from research on teaching and learning - a perfect combination of science and engineering!

People who helped, influenced -or made your life difficult?

Some of the teachers I met during my studies believed in me enough to push me to go further, I think in particular of the DUT teachers who encouraged me to continue with an engineering degree and the university teachers who offered me to join their lab to do my PhD. Others have inspired me to become a teacher myself and influenced the design of some of my courses later. I am also very grateful to the amazing colleagues I met in all the teams I joined. I loved working with them and learned a lot from them, many of them even became friends - they will recognize themselves. Finally, it sounds almost mundane to say it but it is so true: my family and friends have always been there for me and have supported me a lot in difficult times.

Your hopes and future challenges?

I have just accepted a new position at EPFL, to work at the Center for Digital Education. In the continuity of the project I mentioned earlier about developing students' computational thinking skills, I will be working with teachers on how to blend ethical reasoning training, in particular in relation to information systems, into the curriculum. This is a challenge because ethics is a complex subject, fundamental to practice as an engineer and yet very little addressed in their training. Great challenges ahead!

What do you do when you don’t work ?

My son will soon be 8 months old, so my days, evenings and nights are quite packed at the moment! On the other hand, the health situation makes it very difficult to see friends currently, so outings are rare and I have to admit that I find this tough. I am part of an international Taoist Tai-Chi association and we have not been able to practice together for more than a year, except for a few times outdoors last summer... Fortunately, we are lucky enough to be able to enjoy Lake Geneva or the nearby mountains for hiking or just getting some fresh air. Apart from that, I love to read (novels, mainly) and I exercise by doing Zumba.

Your heroes -from History or fiction?

One of my favorite heroes is named Po, he is the panda from “Kung-Fu Panda” (yes, I am a fan of cartoons - my big kid side maybe...). While everyone laughs at him and his dream of doing kung-fu, Po becomes a kung-fu master the day he understands that “there is no secret ingredient”. On the importance of believing in yourself to achieve your dreams!

A saying or proverb you like in particular?

“Nobody is expected to do the impossible”: I have to repeat it to myself quite often because I tend to always want to do everything to the end, whatever the conditions, sometimes to the point of exhaustion...

A book to take with you on a desert island?

If we are talking about survival when being alone in the world, then for me THE book adapted to the situation is “The Martian” by Andy Weir. It is packed with engineering and science (and fiction too, of course) and I never get tired of reading and rereading because it's so realistic and exciting.

A message to young female professionals?

Believe in yourself! Even if I know this is far from easy on a daily basis. And don't hesitate to ask for help to overcome difficulties.

THE CHATELET
QUESTIONNAIRE

The questionnaire answered by the Women of Tech is a variant of the Proust questionnaire, named not because Marcel Proust got lost in the Paris metro, but in memory of Emilie du Chatelet, a woman of letters, mathematician and physicist, renowned for her translation of Newton's Principia Mathematica and the dissemination of Leibniz's physics work. She was a member of the Academy of Sciences of the Bologna Institute. Emilie du Chatelet led a free and fulfilled life during the era of the Enlightenment and published a speech on happiness.

Emilie Du Chatelet

Woman of letters, mathematician and physicist

1706 - 1749

Académie des technologies

Cécile Hardebolle

  • Conseillère pédagogique Machine Learning, EPFL
  • 39 ans
  • Parrainée par Alain Bravo

POURQUOI LA TECH ?

Pour moi, technologie = possibilités + sens. C’est l’idée qu’il est possible de créer de nouveaux objets, de nouvelles choses au service des humains. La tech parle à deux facettes assez opposées de ma personnalité : un côté créatif en même temps qu’un côté très rationnel. C’est sans doute pour cela que ça a été un choix assez évident dans mon parcours.

VOTRE PARCOURS ?

Dans ma formation comme dans mon parcours professionnel j’ai souvent pris des chemins indirects. J’ai ainsi intégré une école d’ingénieur, Supélec, suite à un diplôme universitaire de technologie. Après une première expérience professionnelle dans le conseil, je suis finalement revenue aux études pour faire un doctorat en informatique. J’ai exercé en tant qu’enseignante-chercheure en informatique pendant plusieurs années, et il y a 7 ans j’ai décidé de changer à nouveau d’orientation pour devenir conseillère pédagogique (au sens formatrice de formateurs) et m’expatrier en Suisse.

VOTRE PREMIÈRE EXPÉRIENCE PROFESSIONNELLE DANS LA TECH ?

Jeune ingénieure fraîchement diplômée, j’ai intégré une entreprise de conseil en architecture logicielle. J’ai énormément appris en très peu de temps et les missions pour différents clients m’ont permis de faire un tour d’horizon d’entreprises et de métiers très variés. Et de comprendre que ce n’était pas ma voie !

VOUS FAITES QUOI AUJOURD’HUI ET POURQUOI ?

J’accompagne les enseignant.e.s de l’EPFL (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), une grande école d’ingénieurs Suisse, dans des projets d’innovation pédagogique et technologique depuis 2014. Depuis deux ans je suis plus particulièrement en charge d’un projet appelé « Notebooks Jupyter pour l’Enseignement ». Les notebooks sont des documents interactifs qui permettent de mélanger texte et code exécutable. Ils sont très utilisés en recherche et leur utilisation pour l’enseignement est prometteuse pour développer la pensée computationnelle des étudiant.e.s. L’objectif du projet est d’évaluer l’impact de ces outils sur l’apprentissage des étudiant.e.s, d’identifier les scénarios pédagogiques les plus intéressants pour ces outils et d’accompagner les enseignant.e.s dans leur utilisation. Un projet enthousiasmant à l’intersection de l’informatique, des sciences et de la pédagogie !

VOS ATOUTS POUR CE POSTE ?

C’est un poste qui demande un bon bagage en informatique pour les aspects technologiques, mais aussi une démarche scientifique pour l’évaluation des approches pédagogiques mises en place, et également la capacité d’accompagner des enseignant.e.s souvent très expérimenté.e.s – trois compétences que j’ai pu développer au travers de mes expériences professionnelles précédentes. Comme je suis ingénieure et que j’ai enseigné dans plusieurs écoles d’ingénieur, je comprends les problématiques en jeu. Enfin mon côté « geek » trouve son bonheur dans l’exploration de ces nouvelles technologies, mon côté créatif adore leur imaginer de nouveaux usages et mon côté rationnel est très rassuré de collecter des données pour vérifier que tout cela a du sens !

VOS DÉFIS PASSÉS, VOS RATÉS, VOS GRANDS MOMENTS DE SOLITUDE ?

Il y a quelques années, alors que j’essayais d’évoluer dans mon poste, j’ai dû surmonter une situation de conflit au travail. Cela a été très dur, au point où je n’arrivais plus à me lever le matin. Il était important pour moi de ne pas être dans la fuite de la situation mais de trouver une nouvelle voie qui me permette de redonner du sens à mon travail. J’ai fait appel à une coach, qui m’a aidée à retrouver confiance en moi et à construire un nouveau projet. Il m’a fallu pas loin de 2 ans pour m’en sortir, mais je sais maintenant que c’était (vraiment !) pour le mieux.

VOS MEILLEURS MOMENTS, LES SUCCÈS DONT VOUS ÊTES FIÈRE ?

Lors de mes premières années à l’EPFL, j’ai beaucoup travaillé sur l’appui aux étudiant.e.s et développé des ressources pour les aider à « apprendre à apprendre ». Avec mon collègue Roland Tormey, nous en avons fait un livre appelé « Apprendre à Etudier – Guide à l'usage des étudiants en sciences et en ingénierie ». J’étais vraiment heureuse de pouvoir mettre ces ressources à disposition du plus grand nombre, et c’était mon premier livre. Honnêtement je ne m’attendais pas à ce qu’il ait un énorme succès – on ne parle clairement pas d’un best-seller – mais il nous a quand même valu un passage au journal télévisé de la RTS (la télévision Suisse). Notre atelier « Apprendre à Etudier », proposé aux étudiants qui intègrent l’EPFL à leur arrivée sur le campus, a compté plus de 700 participants chaque année : c’est le plus grand groupe d’étudiant.e.s auquel j’ai jamais enseigné ! Par la suite nous avons publié un MOOC ainsi qu'une application d'aide à l'apprentissage appelée le « Learning Companion ». J’ai trouvé passionnant de baser la conception de ces ressources sur les connaissances scientifiques existantes sur l’enseignement et l’apprentissage - un vrai travail de scientifique et d’ingénieur !

DES PERSONNES QUI VOUS ONT AIDÉE/MARQUÉE OU AU CONTRAIRE RENDU LA VIE DIFFICILE ?

Certains des profs que j’ai croisés dans mes études ont cru suffisamment en moi pour me pousser à aller plus loin, je pense notamment aux profs de DUT qui m’ont encouragée à poursuivre en école d’ingénieur et aux profs d’école d’ingénieur qui m’ont offert de rejoindre leur équipe de recherche pour faire mon doctorat. D’autres sont pour beaucoup dans mon goût pour l’enseignement et m’ont inspirée pour concevoir mes cours par la suite. J’ai aussi eu la chance de rencontrer des collègues extraordinaires dans toutes les équipes dont j’ai fait partie. J’ai adoré travailler avec eux et j’ai énormément appris à leur contact, beaucoup sont devenus des ami.e.s – elles et ils se reconnaitront. Enfin, ça parait presque banal de le dire mais c’est tellement vrai : ma famille et mes amis ont toujours été là pour moi et m’ont beaucoup soutenue dans les passages difficiles.

VOS ENVIES ET DÉFIS À VENIR ?

Je viens d’accepter un nouveau poste à l’EPFL, pour travailler au Centre pour l’Education à l’Ere Digitale. Dans la continuité du projet dont je parlais précédemment d’introduction de la pensée computationnelle dans le cursus ingénieur de l’école, il s’agit de réfléchir à la formation des étudiant.e.s à l’éthique, en particulier en lien avec les systèmes d’information. C’est un challenge parce que l’éthique est un sujet complexe, fondamental pour exercer en tant qu’ingénieur.e et pourtant très peu abordé dans leur formation. De beaux défis en perspective !

ET VOUS FAITES QUOI EN DEHORS DE VOTRE TRAVAIL ?

J’ai un petit garçon de bientôt 8 mois donc les journées, les soirées et les nuits sont bien remplies actuellement ! Par ailleurs la situation sanitaire rend le fait de voir les amis très difficile en ce moment, donc les sorties se font rares et j’avoue que cela me pèse beaucoup. Je fais partie d’une association internationale de Tai-Chi Taoiste et nous n’avons pas pu pratiquer ensemble depuis plus d’un an, sauf quelques fois en extérieur l’été dernier... Heureusement nous avons la chance de pouvoir profiter du lac Léman ou des montagnes toutes proches pour randonner ou simplement prendre l’air. En dehors de cela, j’aime énormément lire (des romans, principalement) et je me défoule au son de la zumba.

VOS HÉROÏNES (HÉROS) DE FICTION, OU DANS L’HISTOIRE ?

L’un de mes héros préférés s’appelle Po, c’est le panda de « Kung-Fu Panda » (oui, je dois avouer un petit faible pour les dessins-animés – mon côté grand enfant peut-être…). Alors que tout le monde se moque de lui et de son rêve de faire du kung-fu, Po devient l’un des maîtres du genre le jour où il comprend que « il n’y a pas d’ingrédient secret ». De l’importance de croire en soi pour réaliser ses rêves !

VOTRE DEVISE FAVORITE ?

« A l’impossible nul n’est tenu » : je dois me la répéter assez souvent car j’ai tendance à vouloir toujours tout faire jusqu’au bout quelles que soient les conditions, parfois jusqu’à l’épuisement…

UN LIVRE À EMPORTER SUR UNE ÎLE DÉSERTE ?

Si on parle ici de survivre lorsque l’on est seul au monde, alors pour moi LE livre adapté à la situation est « The Martian » d’Andy Weir. C’est un petit concentré d’ingénierie et de science (et de fiction aussi, bien sûr) que je ne me lasse pas de lire et relire tellement il est réaliste et passionnant.

UN MESSAGE OU UN CONSEIL AUX JEUNES FEMMES ?

Croyez en vous ! Même si je sais qu’au quotidien c’est loin d’être évident. Et puis surtout n’hésitez pas à vous faire aider pour dépasser les moments difficiles.

LE QUESTIONNAIRE
DU CHATELET

Le questionnaire auquel répondent les Femmes de tech est une variante du questionnaire de Proust, ainsi nommé non pas parce que Marcel Proust se serait égaré dans le métro parisien, mais en mémoire d’Emilie du Chatelet, femme de lettres, mathématicienne et physicienne, renommée pour sa traduction des Principia Mathematica de Newton et la diffusion de l’œuvre physique de Leibniz. Elle fût membre de l’Académie des sciences de l’Institut de Bologne. Emilie du Chatelet mena au siècle des Lumières une vie libre et accomplie et publia un discours sur le bonheur.

Emilie Du Chatelet

Femme de lettre, mathématicienne, physicienne

1706 - 1749