Académie des technologies

Sabrina Andiappane

  • Head of New Business Initiative for On-Orbit Servicing
  • Thales Alenia Space
  • 30 years old
  • Marrainée par Claudie Haigneré

Why a career in tech?

For the joy of being able to imagine, create and build something with a specific purpose and use for people. There is nothing more exciting than space technology for me. Imagining and building machines capable of exploring space, light years away from us, is just incredible, and not without forgetting our satellites which are part of our everyday life.

Your professional experience?

My career path is quite classic: scientific A-level, preparatory school followed by an Engineering school with a specialisation in telecommunications systems. My aim was to have a fairly general background so that I could always choose to do what I wanted.

Your first experience with technology?

In 2013, at Thales Alenia Space, I worked on the Exomars mission, more specifically on the communication system of the orbiter which was launched in 2016. Its objective is to study the Martian atmosphere and to relay communication between the rovers on Mars and Earth. I still remember the first time I saw the spacecraft in the clean room, I felt rally small, literally!

What do you do today and why?

I am responsible for the strategy of new business initiatives in space, more specifically On-Orbit Servicing. The near-Earth space environment is becoming increasingly crowded, but it is impossible to think about living without satellites above us. We are imagining vehicles that will either extend the life of a satellite by refuelling it, repairing it for example or de-orbiting it at the end of its life. This subject combines for me a beautiful vision for the future of space and the development of beautiful technologies with this future autonomous robotic vehicle that will carry out on-orbit operations in space.

Your strengths in this role?

I have been responsible for European research and development projects (H2020) on specific technologies that will enable the development of this new business. The I3DS project I was in charge of from 2016 to 2019 developed sensors to enable the autonomy of these robotic vehicles I mentioned above. This project won the European Star Award. I also followed another on-going project for which I am no longer responsible called EROSS which demonstrates ground-based rendezvous technologies. And finally, I led the win of its sequel EROSS+ which is studying an in-orbit demonstration mission of all these technologies. I have thus developed technical and market knowledge along with a good understanding of the issues at stake in this subject, which now allow me to develop this project at a higher level: because knowledge is power!

Past challenges, failures, and disappointments?

There is a moment that comes to mind when I felt quite alone: it was during the first presentation of my first European project. I was 25 years old and I was in front of an army of men. As it was the first time, I had to make a good impression: to show that I was the right person, knowing that I had only learnt a few days before that I had to take care of the project. It was a great challenge! Fortunately, everything turned out well, I was able to prove myself and I had a great and understanding client who supported me and congratulated me at the end of the project. I often had the feeling of not being good enough, I used to ask myself every day if I deserved my job, if I was worth it, and I work a lot in this sense: it's something I'm still learning to overcome.

Best moments, successes you are proud of?

There are several moments in my life that I am very proud of, and not only for me but also for my parents: receiving the Usine Nouvelle trophy as a promising newcomer in 2017 and the Star of Europe award in 2019, working in space, it made it even more special ! And then recently to have landed a position in my company strategy direction before my 30th birthday at Thales Alenia Space, was a real personal achievement for me.

People who helped, influenced -or made your life difficult?

2 years after the PVST (Prix de la Vocation Technique et Scientifique) in 2008, there was a working group that gave birth to Allez les Filles Osez les Sciences! To encourage young women to pursue science studies. This was a turning point in my life and all the people I met there inspired me: the person behind this initiative Marie Agnès, the group of girls who became my friends, and of course my godmother Claudie Haigneré. It is an unforgettable experience. I am also very lucky to have kind people around me, both in my family and in my professional environment, and I thank them for being there. For those who have made my life difficult, I prefer to ignore them and forget them. My parents always told me that they were just jealous and didn't deserve attention: this is very good advice.

Your hopes and future challenges?

I really miss travelling, both in my personal and professional life. This period we are going through seems to never-ending, so I hope to discover new places very soon: there are so many amazing things to see in the world.

What do you do when you don’t work?

Normally sport: I've been playing tennis since I was very young and it's a sport that taught me discipline and how to surpass myself, it has shaped my mind. I grew up watching Roger Federer, whom I still love to watch play. Otherwise I listen to a lot of music, of all genres and I cannot go a day without music. I discovered K-pop more than 10 years ago and I really like the Korean artists BTS.

Your heroes -from History or fiction?

Mulan: having grown up in the 90s, I did not escape the Disney movies. And this story inspired me a lot in my youth because of her courage, her will to save her family's honour while remaining true to herself.

A saying or proverb you like in particular?

Everything is going to be alright.

A book to take with you on a desert island?

Harry Potter. Well technically there are 7 of them... :) but it's the first book I read that really made me forget about real life and I think that on a desert island you need imagination to survive.

A message to young female professionals?

It may seem like an obvious message, but if you want to do something, do not ask yourself any questions: just go for it. I'm not saying you should not think before taking a decision, but no one will do that for you.

THE CHATELET
QUESTIONNAIRE

The questionnaire answered by the Women of Tech is a variant of the Proust questionnaire, named not because Marcel Proust got lost in the Paris metro, but in memory of Emilie du Chatelet, a woman of letters, mathematician and physicist, renowned for her translation of Newton's Principia Mathematica and the dissemination of Leibniz's physics work. She was a member of the Academy of Sciences of the Bologna Institute. Emilie du Chatelet led a free and fulfilled life during the era of the Enlightenment and published a speech on happiness.

Emilie Du Chatelet

Woman of letters, mathematician and physicist

1706 - 1749

Académie des technologies

Sabrina Andiappane

  • Responsable de futures services en orbite, Thales Alenia Space
  • 30 ans
  • Marrainée par Claudie Haigneré

POURQUOI LA TECH ?

Pour le plaisir de pouvoir imaginer, créer et construire quelque chose avec une utilité et un but précis. Il n’y a rien de plus passionnant que la technologie spatiale pour moi. Imaginer et réaliser des engins capables d’explorer l’espace, à des années-lumière de nous c’est juste incroyable sans oublier nos satellites qui font partie de notre vie de tous les jours.

VOTRE PARCOURS ?

Mon parcours est assez classique terminale S, prépa suivie d’école d’ingénieurs avec une spécialisation sur les systèmes de télécommunications. L’objectif pour moi était d’avoir un parcours assez généraliste pour toujours avoir le choix de faire ce que je voulais.

VOTRE PREMIÈRE EXPÉRIENCE PROFESSIONNELLE DANS LA TECH ?

En 2013, chez Thales Alenia Space, j’ai travaillé sur la mission Exomars plus particulièrement sur le système de communication de la sonde qui a été lancé en 2016. Son objectif est d’étudier l’atmosphère martien et de faire relai de communication entre les astromobiles sur Mars et la Terre. Je me souviens toujours de la première fois que j’ai vu l’engin en salle blanche, je me suis sentie petite, littéralement !

VOUS FAITES QUOI AUJOURD’HUI ET POURQUOI ?

Je suis responsable de la stratégie de nouveaux business dans le spatial plus particulièrement des futurs services en orbite : On-Orbit Servicing. L’environnement spatial proche de la Terre devient un espace de plus en plus encombré mais pour autant il est impossible d’imaginer vivre sans ses satellites au-dessus de nous. Nous imaginons des véhicules qui permettront de soit étendre la vie d’un satellite en le ravitaillant en carburant, en le réparant par exemple ou procéder à sa désorbitation en fin de vie. Ce sujet combine pour moi une belle vision pour le futur du spatial et le développement de belles technologies avec ce futur véhicule robotique autonome pour effectuer ses opérations de services en orbite.

VOS ATOUTS POUR CE POSTE ?

J’ai été responsable de projet de recherche et de développement européens (des H2020) sur les technologies pour permettre le développement de ce nouveau business. Le projet I3DS dont je me suis occupée de 2016 à 2019 a développé des capteurs pour permettre l’autonomie de ces véhicules robotiques dont j’ai parlé plus haut. Ce projet a d’ailleurs remporté le trophée des étoiles de l’Europe. J’ai également suivi un autre projet en cours dont je ne suis plus responsable qui s’appelle EROSS qui démontre au sol les technologies de rendezvous en orbite. Et pour finir j’ai mené au gain de sa suite EROSS+ qui étudie une mission de démonstration en orbite de toutes ces technologies. J’ai ainsi développé la connaissance technique, celle du marché et également bien compris les enjeux sur ce sujet qui me permettent maintenant de développer ce projet à plus haut niveau : because knowledge is power !

VOS DÉFIS PASSÉS, VOS RATÉS, VOS GRANDS MOMENTS DE SOLITUDE ?

Il y a un moment qui me revient où je me suis sentie assez seule : c’était lors de la première présentation de mon premier projet européen, j’avais 25 ans et j’étais devant une armée d’hommes. Comme c’était la première fois, il fallait faire une bonne impression, montrer que j’étais la bonne personne, sachant que j’avais su que quelques jours avant que je devais m’occuper du projet, c’était un beau défi ! Heureusement tout a bien fini, j’ai pu faire mes preuves et j’ai eu un super client compréhensif qui m’a accompagné et qui m’a félicité à la fin du projet. J’ai souvent eu le sentiment de ne pas être à la hauteur, je me demandais tous les jours si je méritais mon poste, si je le valais bien et je travaille beaucoup en ce sens : c’est quelque chose que j’apprends encore à surmonter.

VOS MEILLEURS MOMENTS, LES SUCCÈS DONT VOUS ÊTES FIÈRE ?

Il y a plusieurs moments de ma vie dont je suis très fière et d’ailleurs pas uniquement pour moi mais aussi pour mes parents : le trophée femme de l’industrie de l’Usine Nouvelle dans la catégorie début prometteur en 2017 et l’étoile de l’Europe en 2019, en étant dans le spatial, c’est encore plus spécial !  Et puis récemment d’avoir décroché un poste à la stratégie avant mes 30 ans chez Thales Alenia Space, c’est une vraie réussite personnelle pour moi.  

DES PERSONNES QUI VOUS ONT AIDÉE/MARQUÉE OU AU CONTRAIRE RENDU LA VIE DIFFICILE ?

2 ans après le PVST (Prix de la Vocation Technique et Scientifique) en 2008, il y a eu un groupe de travail qui a donné naissance à Allez les Filles Osez les Sciences ! pour encourager les jeunes femmes à faire des études scientifiques. Cela a été un tournant dans ma vie et toutes les personnes que j’ai rencontré dans ce cadre m’ont inspiré : la personne à l'origine de cette initiative Marie Agnès, le groupe des filles qui sont devenues des amies et bien sûr ma marraine Claudie Haigneré. C’est une expérience inoubliable. J’ai beaucoup de chances également d’avoir autour de moi des personnes bienveillantes aussi bien dans mon entourage familial que professionnel, je les remercie d’être là. Pour ceux qui m’ont rendu la vie difficile, je préfère les ignorer et les oublier, mes parents m’ont toujours dit que c’étaient des personnes jalouses qui ne méritent pas qu’on leur prête attention : c’est un très bon conseil.

VOS ENVIES ET DÉFIS À VENIR ?

Voyager me manque beaucoup aussi bien dans ma vie personnelle que dans ma vie professionnelle. Cette période qu’on traverse n’en finit pas donc j’espère découvrir de nouveaux lieux très prochainement : il y a tellement de choses à voir dans le monde.

ET VOUS FAITES QUOI EN DEHORS DE VOTRE TRAVAIL ?

En temps normal du sport : je fais du tennis depuis très jeune et c’est un sport qui m’a beaucoup discipliné et qui m’a appris à me surmonter, ça a forgé mon mental. J’ai grandi en regardant Roger Federer que j’adore toujours regarder jouer. Sinon j’écoute beaucoup de musique, de tous genres et je ne peux pas passer une journée sans musique. J’ai découvert la K-pop il y a plus de 10 ans et j’aime beaucoup les artistes coréens du groupe BTS.

VOS HÉROÏNES (HÉROS) DE FICTION, OU DANS L’HISTOIRE ?

Mulan : ayant grandi dans les années 90, je n’ai pas échappé aux films Disney. Et cette histoire m’a beaucoup inspirée dans ma jeunesse par son courage, sa volonté de sauver l’honneur de sa famille tout en restant fidèle à elle-même.

VOTRE DEVISE FAVORITE ?

Everything is going to be alright.

UN LIVRE À EMPORTER SUR UNE ÎLE DÉSERTE ?

Harry Potter. Bon techniquement il y en a 7… :) mais c’est le premier livre que j’ai lu qui m’a vraiment fait m’échapper et oublier la vie réelle et je me dis que sur une île déserte on a besoin d’imagination pour survivre.

UN MESSAGE OU UN CONSEIL AUX JEUNES FEMMES ?

Ça peut paraître évident comme message mais il faut tout simplement ne pas se poser de questions si on a envie de faire quelque chose : oser et foncer. Je ne dis pas qu’il ne faut pas réfléchir avant de prendre une décision mais personne ne le fera pour vous.

LE QUESTIONNAIRE
DU CHATELET

Le questionnaire auquel répondent les Femmes de tech est une variante du questionnaire de Proust, ainsi nommé non pas parce que Marcel Proust se serait égaré dans le métro parisien, mais en mémoire d’Emilie du Chatelet, femme de lettres, mathématicienne et physicienne, renommée pour sa traduction des Principia Mathematica de Newton et la diffusion de l’œuvre physique de Leibniz. Elle fût membre de l’Académie des sciences de l’Institut de Bologne. Emilie du Chatelet mena au siècle des Lumières une vie libre et accomplie et publia un discours sur le bonheur.

Emilie Du Chatelet

Femme de lettre, mathématicienne, physicienne

1706 - 1749